The Sevenstar Triple Crown at Lendy Cowes Week is a new event for the world’s largest and most glamorous yachts, who will compete over three days of the event for some of the most prestigious trophies in sailing. A full social programme will be announced in due course.

The Races

A series of three races will take place on the Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday of Lendy Cowes Week and will start and finish from the Royal Yacht Squadron.

Each race will be approximately 50nm long, and the series will include a Solent Eastern Approaches course, a Solent Western Approaches course and an Around the Island Race, with the opportunity for boats to mount record-breaking circumnavigation attempts.

The Trophies

The King George V International Cup, a huge flagon awarded by the Royal Thames Yacht Club in 1911

The RYS King’s Cup 1920 which was presented by King George V at the Royal Yacht Squadron in 1920

The Queen's Cup, presented to the Royal Southampton Yacht Club by Queen Victoria in 1897

The Boats

The event is open to large racing boats of between 20m and 36m LOA, racing under the IRC Rating System. Three classes will compete for the Triple Crown:

  • Maxi-Racers (with a minimum TCC of 1.500)
  • Cruiser-Racers (with a minimum TCC of 1.500)
  • Ocean-Racers (with a minimum TCC of 1.400)

The winner of each class will be awarded one of the prestigious trophies detailed above and the overall winner of the series will be awarded the overall Triple Crown Cup.


Entries for this event can be made through the normal Lendy Cowes Week Entry System.